View Single Post
  #72 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 24, 2007, 09:15pm
Jay R Jay R is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 1,050
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy voyager
I don't agree, yes the ball has "hit the floor" when it hits the official. But there's never been control established in the front court (the ball striking the floor doesn't mean the team has touched the ball in the fc). Therefore no violation should be called
for a bc the follwing 3 things must happen:
1 The team is the last to touch the ball in the fc
2 The team is the first to touch it in the bc
3 The team has control of the ball at the time

And unlike the NFHS fiba has no exception regarding bc during a throw in (not from what I know anyway). The case discribed at the top is a bc under fiba rules.
Crazy,

If you read the FIBA rules on a backcourt violation, it says there must be team control, it does not necessarily say team control in the front court. This would be a violation in FIBA.
Reply With Quote