Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
Yabut....
The rule's purpose is not to penalize the player for what amounts to an official's error (being in the way of the pass). If you have to resort to purpose of the rule here to call the violation, I think you have to pass.
|
Yabut...be careful about using this way of thinking about the play. Are you 100% sure it was the official's fault for getting in the way? Are you 100% sure the player didn't aim it at the official? If the official was standing OOB instead of the front court, would you also use the same criteria?
Now, I did find case play 4.4.4(b) that addresses this very play. And it refers to 9-9-2.