View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 23, 2007, 02:06pm
BuckeyeRef BuckeyeRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 39
This would also affect the muddle huddle type set up on an extra point attempt when team then shifts into a traditional formation. For example the team attempting the try lines up in this formation:

..........42....................................80 .62.44.52.55.35
..............................................40.. ......................38

After the shift, the formation looks like this:

...80.62.44.42.52.55.35.
40.............................38

Assuming I am reading this ruling correctly, #80 is an ineligible receiver because he assumed an inital position on the line between the ends and the kicking team is using the numbering exception. #35 remains eligible because he was an end in the initial formation and remains an end in the formation after the shift. So, if there is a bad snap or bobble by the holder, or a fake, and #80 heads downfield, I've got a penalty.
Reply With Quote