View Single Post
  #31 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 22, 2007, 01:55pm
Dan_ref Dan_ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally Posted by Snaqwells
In situation B of Nevada's post, the ball never made it to a teammate. A1 threw the ball. The ball hit the ref and bounced around. Then A1 was the first to touch the ball. If he hadn't dribbled prior to the pass, this legal without regard to the mid-court line. Can't it be considered a dribble for back-court purposes as well since it's a dribble for traveling purposes?
Good question. According to ncaa AR 79 this is a dribble. I don't see why it wouldn't be a dribble for the purposes of the BC rule.

Quote:
A.R. 79. A1 dribbles and comes to a stop, after which A1 throws the ball: (a) against the
opponent’s backboard and catches the rebound; or (b) against the official, immediately
recovering the ball and dribbling again. RULING: A1 has committed a violation in both
(a) and (b). Throwing the ball against an opponent’s backboard or an official constitutes
another dribble, provided that A1 is first to touch the ball after it strikes the official or
the backboard.
Same as nfhs 4.15.4.c btw

Last edited by Dan_ref; Wed Aug 22, 2007 at 01:59pm.
Reply With Quote