View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Aug 17, 2007, 05:22pm
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
4/5 @ A-10. Last play of the 1st half. A1 punts and A2 recovers the ball at the A-40. Team A had 6 players on the LOS at the snap.

My question is does B have the option on the one untimed down of tacking on 5 yards to the subsequent dead ball spot or do can they only take 5 from the PS because it's the last play of the half?
CANADIAN RULING:

The penalty for not enough men on the line of scrimmage is 5 yards applied only at the line of scrimmage. If A had only as many as 11 players on the field, then the flag will be waived.

If B declines the foul, the half is over. If they accept, it is A 4D/10 @ A-5.

So, the Canadian answer is "no".
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote