View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 20, 2000, 02:53pm
Todd VandenAkker Todd VandenAkker is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
Post

According to the book, "a successful try or tap from the field by a player who is located behind the 19-foot, 9-inch line counts three points. Any other goal from the field counts two points . . . " (5-2-1). Then rule 4-40-2, as pointed out by pizanno, says, "A player is trying for goal when the player has the ball and in the official's judgment is throwing or attempting to throw for goal." Until I read these yesterday, I felt the same way as you: of course you would award 3 points. But, based on the above rule quotes, the book seems to suggest that we officials must "judge" whether the player was actually attempting a shot (i.e., a "try") or not before awarding 3 points. Anything else apparently falls into the "any other goal" category in rule 5-2-1. I couldn't find any Case Book situation that touched on a "non-shot" going in the hoop from outside the 3-point arc. Seems odd to me, but . . . At the least, anything remotely resembling an attempt to throw the ball in the hoop from out there is getting three from me.

[This message has been edited by Todd VandenAkker (edited April 20, 2000).]
Reply With Quote