Thread: Man in motion
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 12, 2007, 09:26am
ljudge ljudge is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Mullica Hill, NJ
Posts: 798
First guys, GET RID of the illegal procedure terminology.

Now for the FED version of illegal shift. ALL players must be set for one full second before anyone goes in motion. If that happens and a man goes in motion, yes, he can stop and run in place. NO foul. Now say that same guy who legally goes in motion and stops for less than one second and the ball is snapped. It's NOT a foul for illegal shift. He's considered by interpretation to still be in motion. That was published about 5 years ago.

The one difference between Fed and NCAA is if everyone gets set for a second, then someone goes in motion and subsequently stops, then another player goes in motion less than a second later you have NO foul in NCAA but DO have a foul in Fed for an illegal shift.
Reply With Quote