Thread: Man in motion
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sun Aug 12, 2007, 06:17am
JugglingReferee JugglingReferee is offline
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Lightbulb Canadian Ruling

It sounds like a play of interest that a coach should discuss with the R and U during the pre-game coaches conference.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Time2Ref
Team A in formation.

A1 goes in motion. When A1 gets to the middle of the formation behind QB, he faces the line of scrimmage and "runs in place". Ball is snapped.

I throw the flag. After the play, I report to the referee Illegal Procedure on A1 for not being set for 1 second before snap.

Coach claims A1 is still in motion because he is "running in place".

What do you have?
CANADIAN RULING:

Legal. Team A must still meet the other formation requirements if A1 vacated the LS.
__________________
Pope Francis
Reply With Quote