quote:
Originally posted by Todd VandenAkker:
Technically it might not be a shot, but since the ball was "thrown" by the OFFENSIVE player into his own basket, it is still treated the same. I wouldn't be signaling a 3-point attempt if I thought it was a pass, but if it goes through, my arms are coming up promptly. So, while not technically a shot, it would be technically correct (by rule) to award the 3 points. Either way, we agree on the end result.
If it is a shot, my arm goes up on the release. We have to make that decision many times through the game. (Is a player fouled while shooting or not?). If my arm is not up on the release, it is not a shot but a pass. If it then goes in, it is only 2.