Thread: New Rule
View Single Post
  #263 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 07, 2007, 10:58am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Tell me, what can you legally do with 00.0 showing on the clock? Can you tap and score? If you say yes, then you don’t understand what you are enforcing.
For the record, I really do hate responding to this troll because all it does is encourage him, but I hate like hell to think that any new officials reading this could possibly think that he'd ever be correct.

Can you tap and score with 0.00 on the clock but before the horn has gone off? The answer of course is "YES", you sureashell can. The period ends when the horn goes-NFHS rule 5-6-2. If a ball is in flight before the horn goes off during a try or TAP, the quarter ends when the tap ends(i.e.-when it's good or not)--NFHS rule 5-6-2EXCEPTION1. Casebook plays 5.2.5SitA(a) and 6.7.6SitB also both very explicitly say that Goofball's statement above, as usual, is completely incorrect according to the rules.

I understand what I'm enforcing. I learn the rules to do that. You're making up your own damn rules again because you don't know or understand the rules that we're supposed to use.
Reply With Quote