View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 06, 2007, 06:37pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
This happened to me in my first or second year of reffing. The wonderful IM players assumed that we were playing NCAA rules and wanted to shoot the T first. I had a brain fart and didn't realize that the wrong guy was on the line.

Consensus here at the time was that it was not a correctable error situation, since all merited FTs had been awarded. If A1 was fouled, but A2 shoots first, A2 shot the technical foul FTs. Have A1 shoot with the lane cleared, then inbound the ball at half-court.

Now, if you think that this was done on purpose (switching one FT-er for another), you'd charge a technical foul.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote