Quote:
Originally Posted by mbcrowder
My confirmation that this was a correct call was your statement that it was a blown call ... but that's for another time.
The OP said that the ball deflected into the batter immediately ... which would be nothing. The recent claim that the ball was at rest when it was contacted by the batter is a COMPLETELY different story - and IS interference.
|
Guess I missed the OP? I see nothing about "immediately, nor "being at rest".
What I did see is; a BR called out when he didn't "intentionally" interfere.
If that ain't "blown", then it's called homer-n, protecting your kid on the team, or fix-n, oh wait, that's the NBA.
Honestly, the timing of events made the play "look intentional" from Umps view, I can't deny.
The play:
Swing and a miss, ball puked up off F2 towards first. I'm sure, blue was looking for the ball, saw the contact, then, when he looked up at the runner; he saw Beltre looking back and down at the now kicked ball, so assumed, Beltre was better than Pele with his feet. So guessed, or felt, or was led to believe, or was fooled into believing, weighed the evidence, whatever. He just either guessed wrong, or saw an opportunity for an out..
It was 7-0 at the time, getting late. Hey, in doubt, out, or you know the expected call.
From J/R:
A strike three blocked (not caught) by the catcher, and the batter-runner, starting his advance to first, unintentionally kicks the ball, or contacts the catcher who is trying to field the ball: neither case is interference...
From PBUC:
Play:
... Strike three not caught. Batter runner unintentionally kicks, touches, or otherwise deflects the pitched ball that was not caught by the catcher. Catcher is unable to make a play.
Ruling: If this occurs in the vicinity of home plate, the ball is alive and in play.
However, if this occurs up the first base line (where the batter-runner has had time to avoid the ball), interference is called..
The ball no doubt came from behind Beltre, as the OP stated. No way he saw it coming. It rolled between his feet and right into the path of his moving back foot. He carried it so nicely as he strided, I flashed back to my hackey sack playing days.
It certainly looked to the "un-whole pictured eye" to be intentional. But, I'm sure, like so many of the uniformed, Beltre/coaches/announcers, just assumed it was automatic, so no arguement. Had there been a confrontation, and had HPU gone for help, the call may very well have been, called correctly. But again 7-0 in the 8th or 9th, nah..