
Wed Aug 01, 2007, 08:54pm
|
In Time Out
|
|
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: In a hut
Posts: 911
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule
I thought this play was interesting.
On an attempt to check his swing, Elston Howard hits a chop in front of the plate.
But as he starts to run . . .
His bat hits the ball again.
Howard has both feet in the box, but Jocko Conlon called him out. I am wondering whether this was because the ball didn't simply bounce back up and hit the bat, but that the bat was out away from his body, and Howard actually actively contacted the ball. I'm wondering whether this was the correct call by rule, or whether in 1961 the umps sometimes just called what they thought seemed right on a particular play.
|
Is this the Cincy series they lost? Or Pittsburgh? Conlon missed it.
__________________
"Never try to teach a pig to eat reasonably. It wastes your time and the pig will argue that he is fat because of genetics. While drinking a 2.675 six packs a day."
|