Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
1) But you didn't signal to start the clock, as you were supposed to do under 5-9-4. And when you screwed up by failing to signal "time in" by tule, the timer is authorized to start the clock anyway under 9-5-1. And after the timer does properly start the clock by rule, there now is NO timing mistake to correct under 5-10-1&2. Just follow the bouncing ball.
|
You keep looking at the wrong bouncing ball. I signaled for the clock to
stop by keeping my hand in the air. I'm giving you the fact that clock (coulda, woulda, shoulda) started, but I'm saying I stopped the clock at the same time. If time runs off, I can correct for the failure to
stop the clock.
Again, I know it's a slight stretch, but intent is a big part of figuring out the rules. If the intent of the new kicked ball interp. is to say any throw-in doesn't end on that violation, then I can't think of any situation where the clock should start even though the throw-in hasn't ended. Can you?
I hope they pick up one of them magic keyboards and get that word "legally" added to 5-9-4 by the time the books come out.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
2) Didn't work. Shoulda tried something easier....like walking on water.
|
How do you think I got to lunch?