View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 26, 2007, 03:18pm
UmpJM UmpJM is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,057
Send a message via Yahoo to UmpJM
Cool

Gmoore,

Under OBR rules, the ball does not immediately become dead when a balk occurs.

If the pitcher throws (to a base) or delivers a pitch, the ball remains in play until the outcome of the play that began with the throw or pitch is determined.

Depending on what happens, the ball may or may not become dead as a result of the preceding balk, and the balk may be either enforced or disregarded.

JM
__________________
Finally, be courteous, impartial and firm, and so compel respect from all.
Reply With Quote