Quote:
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
Part of this depends on the rules set being used. In LL (iirc), NCAA and FED (starting next year) F3 (and any fielder) must have the ball before he can block the base (yeah -- I know that's not the exact wording).
In pure OBR, and FED this year, a play must be imminent. That's generally interpreted as the ball being in flight. So, R1 could be obstructed while F1 is making a pick-off if the obstruction happens before the ball is released.
|
Well said, Sir (suck up, suck up).
Did you not mean "after" release? Regardless, there is solid argument under certain rulesets, especially those where the emphasis is on player's safety, that an obvious blocking position should be handled by the umpire by relating the positioning to OBS, in either a discreet ot indirect way, that this blocking will be considered OBS.