View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 19, 2007, 11:52am
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by NCASAUmp
I personally would have held off on the out call until the coach said for certain, "she's coming out." At that point, once I call the out, she's out. The coach is responsible for his/her players and their well-being, and he/she alone should make the assessment if we're dealing with minors.

However, if at a later point in the game, she and the coach decide that she's well enough to play, let her back in.

Although, I have one question, since I don't have the rule book in front of me... Would this count as "re-entering" the game? She wasn't subbed out, but she is, by all literal accounts, "re-entering."
Speaking ASA,

No, no, no, no. Once a player leaves the game and causes a team to play under the shorthanded rule, the player may NOT return to play in that game.

The only exception would be if she couldn't continue due to the blood rule. However, if that were the case, it doubt there would have been the discussion about going shorthanded.

I believe, too, that the coach is responsible for his/her decisions. If the player had an injury serious enough to remove her from the game, it would be prudent for the coach to just accept the shorthanded rule and continue the game.

Unless there is a doctor available to clear the player, I would have taken a more cautious path regardless of what the player says. If an injury is compounded by the player continuing to play or passes out at any time afterward, that coach better have a great lawyer as the adult responsible for putting her back out on the field.
Reply With Quote