| 
			
			 
			
				Thu Apr 04, 2002, 11:11pm
			
			
			
		 | 
	| 
		
			
			| Official Forum Member |  | 
					Join Date: Sep 2000 Location: USA 
						Posts: 14,565
					      |  | 
	
	| 
			
			
	Quote: 
	
		| Originally posted by Del-Blue Since I don't have anything to do right now, I thought I would have to comment.
 
 The Other Chuck,
 
 I am glad you were able to  convince the  runner and her coach why you called
 her out. That is the edge we, as umpires, have. The coaches usually don't have a
 clue.  Unless the SS was in the position to receive the ball, as the runner hit her
 I personally believe you may have stole that out. Good for you.
 If I understand you, the SS was moving to field the ball.  Was she 10 ft from the
 ball?? 5 ft??   or just starting to move  in the direction of the deflected ball.                                          If so you have obstruction, not interference. Now if the SS was in a position to
 field the ball, then you have interference.
 
 Shame on you MIKE
 
 
 
 [Edited by Del-Blue on Apr 4th, 2002 at 01:00 PM]
 |  A. My response was to the original scenarios (cited) offered by Chuck, not the second scenario offered by Andy.
 
B.  I do not know who Del-Blue is, but I might have an idea.
		 
				__________________The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
 |