Thread: No Harm No Foul
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2002, 01:33pm
Del-Blue Del-Blue is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 190
Since I don't have anything to do right now, I thought I would have to comment.

The Other Chuck,

I am glad you were able to convince the runner and her coach why you called
her out. That is the edge we, as umpires, have. The coaches usually don't have a
clue. Unless the SS was in the position to receive the ball, as the runner hit her
I personally believe you may have stole that out. Good for you.
If I understand you, the SS was moving to field the ball. Was she 10 ft from the
ball?? 5 ft?? or just starting to move in the direction of the deflected ball. If so you have obstruction, not interference. Now if the SS was in a position to
field the ball, then you have interference.

Shame on you MIKE



[Edited by Del-Blue on Apr 4th, 2002 at 01:00 PM]
__________________
Bob
Del-Blue
NCAA, ASA, NFHS
NIF
Reply With Quote