Thread: No Harm No Foul
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Apr 04, 2002, 01:00pm
Andy Andy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Glendale, AZ
Posts: 2,672
Other Chuck -

I can relate to your position.

Here is a play I had on Monday:

I am BU in C position with R1 on second, R2 on first. Ball hit just to the right of the pitcher, two outs, runners are off at contact. F1 just gets the tip of her glove on the ball, deflecting it toward F6. F6, seeing the ball has been deflected, moves forward to field the ball and runs into R1 going from second to third. I call interference on R1 for the third out.

At the start of the next half inning, F4, who was the R1 that was out asked me about the call, so I explained that the pitcher was not considered an infielder for the purpose of the interference rule, and because of the deflection, she was at the wrong place at the wrong time. After the game, I gave the same explanation to the coach. Both were OK with the explanation.

Everybody involved was doing what they were supposed to be doing, but because of the deflection, it led to an interference call. Just one of those "the way the ball bounces" calls.
Reply With Quote