Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
I'm going to let you in on a secret. While researching the code on the APTI, I came across a case play where I totally kicked one. It was a boys varsity game and I was the R and I really wanted to jump toss the ball, good jumpers in the game. Well, in the pregame, one of the good jumpers dunked the ball. Stupid, I was looking the other way but my partner caught it. I tried to get my partner to let it go, so that I could still do the toss, he said no. Well, what I did was a player on the opposition team touch the rim on the way down as the teams was coming off the court for the introductions. Wah-la! I got a T on you for grabbing the rim, therefore making it a double T and we start the game with a jump. Classic, I got my jump ball back! Right! Woops, we did it wrong but I didn't realize until several years later. Most officials might not have something like that happen in a career of officiating. Therefore, you would not know the unique difference in the rule.
|
Obviously you do not know the "unique difference" between
touching the ring/basket and
grasping the ring/basket? Therefore, I'll just tell you that first is legal, while the second is not.
So, you actually screwed up
TWICE on this play. Not only did you fail to administer the technical foul that you called properly, something which you now say that you are aware, but you were in fact also
WRONG to assess it in the first place, and clearly you aren't aware of this error.
Once again...