Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
It's not just my logic. It's backed by very noteable sources. You really should get a few definitive resources and see for yourself.
From the J/R:
It is a balk if a pitcher:
11. Steps to first base, and :
3) Throws, but the first baseman, because of his distance from the base, is unable (or if the throw is errant- would have been unable) to try a tag against the runner at first.
Tim.
|
That's one source, pardner, which addresses zip of the below, so try again.
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
At first base the fielder must be near enough to the bag that he has a legitimate opportunity to retire the runner. Of course this leaves the call all up to your judgment as to whether or not F3 has a legitimate play on R1.
Tim.
|
By your logic, then a pick off thrown ahead of R1 (to the 2B side of R1) is a balk, it's not near the bag. Wait, no, F3 has a legitimate play on R1, no balk. No, that can't be, F3 dove back to first; no, wait, F3 is not near the bag, or is he? yada yada yada.
"Near to the bag" has nothing to do with this call which was my point entirely. Legitimate chance to retire is the guts of this rule/call.
Your turn.