Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Quote:
Originally Posted by M&M Guy
Are you saying the kick and knocking the ball OOB are exactly the same?
|
Yes! Outcome of said play is the same.
|
I had to laugh at the logic of this one.
Unfortunately, the Outcomes are not the same. The ball becomes dead for two different reasons and at two different times. On a Kick, the ball becomes dead when the ball is kicked. It is a violation at that point. On the knocked ball that goes OOB, the ball is live until the ball touches OOB, not when it is knocked. Is the end result a violation in both cases? Yes, but outcomes and end results happen for many different reasons and different rules apply based on how they happen.
Consider this: A1 throws the ball in that touches no one and goes oob. A1 throws the ball in that is tipped by A2 but goes oob. The outcomes are the same, Team A caused the ball to go oob. Yet, the spot throw-in for B will be different even though the "outcome" was the same.
Consider this: A1 shoots a lay up that goes in. Later A2 launches a half court shot that goes in. Later A3 shoots a Free Throw that goes in. The "outcome" of the play is the same in that the ball goes through the basket each time, yet the scoring is different because of the rule.