View Single Post
  #83 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 12, 2007, 11:24am
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by rpumpire
The rules say if a player is tagged before reaching the base, he is out. If an umpire calls him safe, he has not misinterpreted the rule, he has blown a judgment call.
The rules say that if the pitcher steps off the rubber with the wrong foot it's a balk, and that is the rule interpretation that this umpire misinterpreted. The safe or out was irrelevant, as the play should never have happened. Tim was not objecting to the out call, just the non-balk call.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25