
Tue Jul 10, 2007, 09:11am
|
Official Forum Member
|
|
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
|
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveASA/FED
"Originally Posted by CecilOne
Any comments about procedure on this play, not necessarily ASA?
Ball hit to outfield, R1 rounding 3rd is OBS by F5, called by PU. R1 continues to home, barely beaten by throw and tagged "out". PU judges the OBS made enough difference that R1 would have beaten the throw without it. PU calls dead ball, checks position of other runners; announces "runner safe on obstruction at 3rd"."
I guess it is judgement but in this situation if the runner is thrown out barely at home and in there judgement the runner would have beaten the throw to home with no OBS then why wouldn't the umpire call dead ball and award the runner home, not 3rd?
|
Read further... see clarifications...
__________________
Tom
|