Quote:
Originally Posted by soundedlikeastrike
One last try; ah, the english language.
Good topic. Period.
|
You may have been right all along or perhaps you correctly presented some outdated information. Perhaps the play you outlined from the MLBUM was printed in an older version. Perhaps this was one of them times when a revision was introduced. Rules are changed all the time for one reason or another.
Play 217-419 ... {Similar to your play} ..."In OBR: regardless of his actions, he may retouch 1B before advancing to 3B.
{He is initially awarded home! Maybe. See Play 218-419 next.} "
Play 218-419: 'R1 leaves too soon and is between 2B and 3B at the TOT that goes dead. R1 is not returning to 1B. (
Revised) Ruling: In FED and NCAA, R1 is awarded home. {In FED and NCAA, R1 cannot return to touch 1B.} In OBR, R1 is awarded 3B, 2 bases from his original base.
I am quoting from the 2006 BRD, #419. Be aware of the possibility that you may need to re-clarify your position after you compare the two plays with the latest MLBUM information on this topic. That is why we read this website and discuss these things. That is why most of us look forward to the next edition of the BRD.