Moronic or not: an excerpt from MLBUM may also be moronic, but it's the mechanic I'd use.
I would indeed kill it, as the ball did go OOP, that's "time" in any ball park. Whether thrown, carried or batted.
Once the runner has touched 2nd, he's touched second and owns it.
Albeit not quit yet legally, not my problem either.
At the time the ball went dead he was between 2nd and 3rd, after, "touching 2nd". The award must be one base from where he was.
If the runner does what he's supposed to, retouches, then yes, I agree, the award would now be 2B.
I cannot authenticate this, but it comes from a source I trust.
It entertains a two base award, I can't recall any source that would dictate a one base award, be treated any differently.
From MLBUM:
Baseball Rule 7.05(i).)
Play: Runner on first, one out. Batter flies out to right field for second out. However, runner on first thought there were two out and is between second and third when the ball is caught.
Right fielder's throw to first is wild and goes into the dugout.
Runner is between second and third when
the wild throw is made.
Ruling: Runner is initially awarded home (two bases from his position at the time of the throw).
However, while the ball is dead, the runner must return to and retouch first base.
Furthermore, because the runner was between second and third when the ball went out of play, he must return to first before reaching and touching third (his next base). If the runner touches third, he may not
return to first; and if the defensive team appeals, the runner is out at first.
However, if the runner properly returns and retouches first before reaching third, the award then becomes third base (two bases from his original base).
__________________
SLAS
|