Quote:
Originally Posted by mbyron
Right. Send him BACK to 2B (he'd already rounded). And then what do you say to the base coach who enquires, "Isn't that award 1 base from the last base legally touched?"
If you reply, "1B is the last base legally touched, coach," you've given the game away.
|
Time, you 3rd base, is what ya gotta call.
He's rounded 2nd, the award is 3rd. Not my problem if he doens't fulfill his obligation to re-touch (before he touches 3rd). I,m not out there too second guess if the D is gonna appeal, nor am I guessing the O isn't trying to steal one. Award the base and rule on the result/s.
Once everyone see's the out call on the catch, their supposed to know what to do, retouch, if less than two outs.
Would a runner fail to retouch if he was scrambling back to 1st to do so, when the ball went past the F3 and OOP, probably not. Even if you called "time" and awarded 3rd before, he had re-touched. Might confuse em, but only once, I'm sure.
They should also know the runner can retouch on a dead ball, as long as he hasn't touched the next base, after the ball is dead.
And if he does touch the next base and still goes back and retouches, I sure ain't stopping him there either, that's the defenses job to know he can't, and to make a proper appeal.
Not
Ump: "whoa there base runner where you going"?
BR: "Ah, back to re-touch sir".
Ump: "No you can't, because you've already touched the next base after the call of time on a DB".
Or
Ump: "You second".
BR: "But sir, that's a one base award, I already touched 2nd".
Ump: "I know, but you left early and have to retouch, so I can only make you go backwards, to the base you already touched, cause if I let you keep going, you'll still be subject to appeal at 1st.
Just none of our business IMO. Make your award and rule on any developments.