View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jul 02, 2007, 01:21pm
Illini_Ref Illini_Ref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Robinson, IL
Posts: 266
Here is the situation as it happened. One out, runner on third, bottom of the sixth (5 inning tourny game). Pitcher brings hands together up then down (one pump) then stops. PU calls IP and awards runner home, game over.

Sounds like he got it right. My question is this.....do you call it. I've had a uninvolved coach say that you let it go in that situation. My worry is what to tell the opposing coach when he asks about it. Clearly a rule violation.

I say it has to be called if it is obvious. I don't do softball, but it is similar to a balk in a baseball game. Don't go looking for them, but you have to call the obvious ones.
Reply With Quote