Quote:
Originally Posted by iowafanseattle
This happened in a high school baseball game:
Runners on 1st and 3rd with 1 out.
Batter hits a foul pop-up near the dugout, the dugouts are open in the front.
The catcher catches the foul ball about 4-feet before his momentum carries
him into the dugout. After he stops his momentum he immediately returns to
the field of play.
The umpire ruled: Batter out and both runners advance 1-base as the ball
went into the dugout.
Is this the correct call ?
Thanks
|
Depends on his actual momentum. If he had no other choice but to catch and carry, then all is well. If not, then he has no right to do so and kill the potential advancement of Rs.