View Single Post
  #25 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 29, 2007, 12:49pm
SRW SRW is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle area
Posts: 1,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by JPRempe
Did the defensive player receive the ball and have his/her foot on the bag? If so, then yes, that play would require a call to be made. If no defensive play is made/attempted, how can I call the B/R safe?

Where in the 2007 ASA rulebook does it say that I must call the B/R safe if the B/R beats the ball out to 1B but never touches the bag? It just doesn't make any kind of sense to me at all if I am forced by ASA rule to make an incorrect call, and then upon the ensuing appeal reverse myself even though I knew the initial ruling was incorrect.
Wow, how arrogant.

If the BR touches the base, you call the BR safe. If the BR misses the base, the BR is considered to have touched it. You hesitate slightly to allow the players to finish the play. If no play is made, you declare the BR safe. If they appeal properly, you call them out. You do it this way so you don't tip off either team that the play may not be over. Also, they're assumed safe until put out. If the proper appeal is not made, the BR is safe.

And where is all this? You're right, it's not in the rulebook. It's in the Umpire Manual. Perhaps the most needed, and least read portion of the entire book.
__________________
We see with our eyes. Fans and parents see with their hearts.
Reply With Quote