View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 28, 2007, 05:14pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Originally Posted by drinkeii
There was little to no contact during this.
Originally Posted by drinkeii
The screen A2 set was clearly illegal, because she was moving around in the path of B1, causing her to pull up short and have to change directions, or be cut off from going where whe was going before A2 started moving around in front of her. A2 clearly benefited from the movements, because it put her in position to receive a pass which led to an easy layup.?
Both of these quotes effectively contradict each other. If there was no contact, the screen A2 set cannot be "clearly illegal". If A2 got to the spot first, and caused B1 to have to stop and go around, that's actually called "a good play".

Originally Posted by drinkeii
The lack of actual contact is where I have my question. Can/Should you call an illegal screen without contact?
Although I alluded to it, and rainmaker and BITS pretty much spelled it out - the answer to this question is no. Both the definition of a personal foul, 4-19-1, and the definition of a screen, 4-30-1, include the word "contact".
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote