View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 21, 2007, 12:04pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Not relevant....at the time of contact, the player wasn't airborne.

If the position taken gives sufficient time/distance at the time it is established, it is LGP. At the time it was obtained, the player had the ball. In this case, it gave the the airborne player a place to land before contact...all that is required for a player with the ball. That mean that it was legally obtained. The fact that the ball handler gave up control of the ball doesn't negate a previously obtained LGP.
As I read what I wrote here in conjunction with reviewing the rules, I'm not so sure I'm right....at least by the letter of the rule.

However, I can't believe the intent was to force a defender to get out of a position that would have drawn a charge had opponent not passed the ball.

I think that once the player lands, the "airborne" clause of the rule is irrelevant and all that matters then is when the defender obtained the position relative to the opponent and ball's status....obtained while the oppoent had the ball makes it LGP and obtained after the opponent gave up the ball is not LGP unless extra time/distance is given.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote