Quote:
Originally posted by Hoosier Daddy
Saw this happen about 3 weeks ago at the state tourney. A1 steals the ball and fastbreaks down the court for an uncontested goal. He lays the ball up (off the front of the basket). After he lets go of the ball he decides to "snap" the rim. What's the ruling? The ref called something but I want to see what you guys come up with.
|
Play 1: The ball is touching the basket ring. RULING: Offesnive basket interference and technical foul for grabbing the rim.
Play 2: The ball is not touching the basket ring, but some part of the ball is touching the ring's cylinder above the rim. RULING: Technical foul for grabbing the rim.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
|