Quote:
Originally Posted by _Bruno_
hi,
i got 2 questions.
1. runners on 1st and 2nd, 1out.
runner 2 hinders SS during his throw to 3rd base.
whats the call ?
R2 out (only) ? or R2 out AND BR (automatic) or only if a double play would have been possible ? whats the call with 2 outs ? BR out ?
would be nice if you could tell me with rules enforces your call.
2. batter has a 3-2 count. the next pitch hits the umpire oder catcher in the mask and lodges there. rule 5.09g says that even this pitch would have been strike three (called or swinging??), the batter is entitled 1stbase ??
thanks in advance
bruno
|
1. You are going to need to be much more specific here. HOW did R2 hinder the throw?
It is NOT interference simply because a throw happens to strike a runner. There must be some type of intent (Exception being the running lane between HP & 1B).
If it's an intentional attempt to break up a double play you can get two outs here. Otherwise R2 is out, batter goes to 1B, R1 to 2B.
2. You are correct here:
Rule 5.09(g) Comment:
If a pitched ball lodges in the umpire’s or catcher’s mask or paraphernalia, and remains out of play, on the third strike or fourth ball, then the batter is entitled to first base and all runners advance one base. If the count on the batter is less than three balls, runners advance one base.