View Single Post
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 03:41pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
New thread…just to see if I got it. I don’t want to interrupt the flow of the other one!

1)
Arrow points to Team A
A1 throws ball into play, B1 kicks the ball OOB.
Team A gets another throw in.
But the new throw in is because of the kick violation.
A1 throws in again.
A2 gains possession.
Arrow remains pointed at Team A because of new rule where AP throw in never was completed.
Correct?
Correct.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoachP
2)
B1 fouls A1 for 6th team foul.
A1 inbounds and B2 and A2 catch ball at the same time, whistle, held ball.
(clock man ran 2 seconds off)
Arrow is pointing to Team A.
Team A to throw in.
A1 throws ball into play, B1 jumps and kicks the ball OOB.
But clock man didn't start the clock because the kick/whistle was too fast.
Team A gets another throw in.
But the new throw in is because of the kick violation.
Official hands A1 the ball.
While A1 has ball, scorekeeper realizes it was team B’s 7th foul and sounds horn and alerts official. What happens?


a)Do the Officials give A1 his one and one with lanes cleared, and then go back to throw in for the kick violation and the arrow will remain with Team A after the throw in is complete?

b)Or do we say the clock "should" have started therefore negating the FT's? (with the arrow staying with Team A after the throw in of course)

c) or????
Correcting my statment....

It is not correctable. The error occurred during a dead ball. The clock started (during the throwin which led to a held ball). The ball became dead (held ball). The ball became live again (on the throwin that ended with a kick). This live ball was the end of the correctable window.

Ignoring the fact that it is now past the correctable window and assuming it was still correctable...Possession didn't change (a held ball alone is not sufficient for a change of possession) between the point of the error and the recognition of the error, A1 would get the 1+1 with rebounders along the lane and the game continues normally as if the 1+1 was administered correctly the first time. A retains the arrow.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jun 13, 2007 at 03:49pm.
Reply With Quote