Quote:
Originally Posted by Dakota
Sorry - fat fingered typing. 4-1-D.
Rather than give you direct answers, I'm trying to help you think it through. The runner will always be making decisions on where to go after he is obstructed. Once obstructed, he is protected in two ways, 1) To the base he would have achieved (in your judgment) had there been no obstruction, and 2) between the bases where the obs occurred. Protection 2) overrides protection 1) - that is advancing beyond the base he was protected to (when that base is the preceding base) does not remove his protection between the bases. That protection between the bases can only be removed under listed situations: a) the runner does achieve the base he would have achieved and then advances AFTER a play on ANOTHER runner, or b) the runner commits one of the listed infractions (e.g. interference, missing a base, etc.). The rule makes no exception for retreating and then deciding to advance again. He is still protected between the bases where the obstruction occurred.
|
Understood you 100% Dakota from your first post. I'm not looking for the answer outright either buddy. Thanks for helping me out on that... I could've sworn that I read somewhere though that OBS is a delayed dead ball and after he touched a base he's no longer protected between the two... I now have True for #17 thanks... What about the other questions?