View Single Post
  #110 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 13, 2007, 11:07am
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School

First, the AP grants you possession. It does not or should not guarantee you a successful throw-in. If there’s a violation of the throw-in, you don’t lose the ball anyway. You are now on to something else, like another spot throw-in. AP is now done.




Quote:
Originally Posted by OHBBREF
Under NFHS there is NO TEAM CONTROL ON A THROW IN - so there is no possession.
Careful now OHBBREF...lest you wander down the OS path.

Possession and Team Control are not one and the same. In fact, a team has possession before they have team control. Take a look at the correctable error rules/cases to see what I mean. A team's possession generally begins the moment an infraction or goal (by the opposite team) occurs or when a team gains control of a ball from a steal/rebound/etc.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association

Last edited by Camron Rust; Wed Jun 13, 2007 at 11:14am.