Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
Anyway, I'm going to try this one more time.
1.) Beep! Jump ball!!!!
2.) Jump ball AP arrows points to team A
3.) Team A given ball for throw-in.
4.) Violation, kick ball on defense
5.) Team A inbound ball again, successfully.
6.) Beep! Jump ball again!
7.) AP still points to Team A because AP throw-in never occurred because of violation on defense. Team B coach goes ballistic and gets ejected. Reasoning is he knows that nobody in charge of the rules in their right mind would think of something like that, and accuses referee's of cheating. !
|
7A). Team A throw in from the "T"
Quote:
Originally Posted by Old School
8.) Team A given ball for inbound from AP
9.) Team B violation again, kick ball
10.) Team A inbound again from kick ball violation, successfully
11.) Beep! Jump ball
12.) AP still points to Team A.
... that's 3 jump balls, 3 consequtive jump balls, all going to the same team. That defeats the purpose of the AP arrow.
|
The thing that you have to remember here is that alternating possesion throw ins have nothing to do with every other throw in as you seem to be saying in your statement. The Alternating possession throwing only has to do with situations that result from a tie up or inability to determine who has possession of the ball or the begining of a period - in the old days the jump ball would have occured.
There are plenty of times that team A will get three consecutive inbounds oportunities if team B knocks the ball out of bounds or commits consecutive fouls or violations - We do not alternate possessions on fouls or violations just on tie ups or the officials inability to determine possession Oops inadvertant whistle also!
Also under your scenaro saying that team A had the ball three consecutive times for a throw in due to alternating possesion is NOT TRUE they have only had it once because at no time did they COMPLETE an AP throw in due to the actions of the defense.
Look at it this way:
team A has an AP throw in - A1 tosses the ball toward A2 - but A2 is held by B2 - foul called - Team A still retains the AP throw in due to the foul on B - BECAUSE THE THROW IN WAS NOT COMPLETED - what is the difference on a kicked ball?
The ball was not legally touched so throw in was not completed. I do not see all of the controversy here it seems pretty black and white/ red and green or what ever - Now if you choose to use your own set of rules and not follow what the book says to do - then you are going to have a problem,