View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 11:56am
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by tibear
I'm sure I've read this a hundred times:

Does this imply that until the BR touches first the other runners are not forced and thus must remain on their TOP bases? If the runners leave early are they in danger of being tagged out?

I've never seen that situation occur where all of the runners waited until the previous runner "forced" them off the base.

Opinions, Comments??
I know it's Friday and IMO you probably want to get a "rise' out of everyone but in the words of John McEnroe "You can't be serious"

When B1 receives ball 4 he is not longer a batter but a batter turned runner.
At the EXACT moment B1 recevies ball 4 both R1 and R2 by rule (See definition of Force) are Forced to advance. They do not have to wait "until" B1 actually touches first base before they can advance.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote