View Single Post
  #119 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 08, 2007, 04:42am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Dexter
You can't pick and choose which parts of the rule, casebook play and comment suit you. A throw - whether we think it definately is a pass, definately isn't a pass or we're not quite sure - from beyond the 3 point arc scores 3 points.
Really? Then why isn't this 3 points?

4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1's three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)


My answer is what is written on page 10 of the rules book.
"Therefore, it is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation."

5-2-1 is not intented to apply to this situation. That wasn't the purpose of its creation.
That's the best explanation that I can provide, Mark.
Reply With Quote