View Single Post
  #113 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jun 07, 2007, 07:07pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
Then you are completely misreading it. It quite clearly says that this rule removes from the equation all judegment about what the thrown ball is. Yet, your conclusion is to required that very judgement. That is the primary error in your interpretation.
Huh? What in the Clarification am I mis-reading? Where am I saying there is judgement needed? I thought I was saying just the opposite - any pass, throw, or shot that originates from outside the arc counts as 3 points if it goes in the basket, even if it touches a defender that happens to be within the arc. There is no judgement at all as to whether a "try" has occured. You, Nevada, and bz are adding the assumption that the thrown ball has characteristics of a shot or try - has to be "thrown towards the basket", "if it's below the rim when it's contacted it would only be 2 points", "if it's on it's downward flight it must be GT", and so on. The Clarification specifically adds the word "pass" to it, which tells me 3 points can be scored on a pass, which does not carry the characteristics of a shot.

So, is this statement true: "Any pass that originates from outside the arc, and is tipped by the defense inside the arc, and goes through the basket, counts as 3 points"? According to the 5-2-1, the case play, and the Clarification, it is. And, as well, the OP.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote