Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
It depends, on where the throw is going now doesn't it.
|
Why?
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
As for the case play, it talks about B1 being inside and outside the 3 point area touching the try/throw and it going in. Add it up and it's talking about an on-ball defender...as if A1 v B1 wasn't enough.
|
Sounds logical. But it doesn't say that, and that's my point. It is simply an assumption on your part. But what if the on-ball defender tipped a pass instead of a shot, and it goes in? How is that different than another defender 20 ft. away tipping the same pass, and it goes in? Where is that distinction made?
Quote:
Originally Posted by blindzebra
Also to take it farther, it talks about a thrown ball being touched by B1 outside the arc going in too, so we counting 3 points on a skip pass from one wing outside the arc that hits B2, outside the arc, on the other wing that goes into the basket a 3? After all you have a thrown ball from the 3 point area contacting a defender also in the 3 point area going in.
|
Unfortunately, that is what the rule says - it's worth 3 points. I would love for them to come out with a case play that gives some more direction, such as the OP, where there is a pass into a post player and the defender tips the pass into the basket; it is worth only 2 points because of this reason or that. Until they do, the rule says it's 3.