Quote:
Originally Posted by Camron Rust
You're reading too much into the rule.
|
I might respectfully suggest that's what you're doing. By including statements such as "no chance of going in the basket", "obvious pass", etc., you are adding things that aren't included in the rule or case. Using your logic, than any tipped 3-point shot that goes in should only be counted as 2, because since it was tipped and re-directed, and then went in, the original shot was obviously off-line to begin with. But we don't have to make that judgement.
Let's check 5-2-1:
"A successful try, tap or
thrown ball from the field by a player who is located behind the team's own 19-foot, 9-inch arc counts three points."
Check.
"A ball that touches the floor, a teammate inside the arc, an official, or any other goal from the field counts two points for the team into whose basket the ball is thrown."
Nope, none of that happened.
Now let's check 5.2.1(c):
"A1 throws the ball from behind the three-point line. The ball is legally touched by:... (b) B1 who is in the two-point area;
Check.
"The ball continues in flight and goes through A's basket."
Check.
"RULING: In (a) and (b), three points are scored since the legal touching was by the defense and the ball was thrown from behind the three-point line."
Check.
What am I reading into it?