View Single Post
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 06, 2007, 02:27pm
blindzebra blindzebra is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Think about the intent of the rule.

What was intended in 5-2-1 was for a defender immediately touching the ball just after release with the ball still going up and toward the basket, and taking the was the defender inside or outside the arch out of the equation.

Now it doesn't matter by rule if that is a try or thrown ball, it's a live ball from behind the arch entering the basket, because the touching did not change the try or thrown balls trajectory toward the basket.

In the case in the OP, you have a live ball entering the basket, but it in no way meets the intent of 5-2-1, IMO.

It calls for a little common sense on our parts...a try/throw that is heading up, gets touched and continues heading up is very different than a try/throw that is 7 feet high, heading down and then gets touched and goes 11 feet high and in the basket.
Reply With Quote