View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 05, 2007, 02:33pm
PeteBooth PeteBooth is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Newburgh NY
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnnyg08
With this sitch...what is the official rule though...I could see this happening...wouldn't you kill the play immediately and place the runners where they would've reached had the rat not stopped the ball...OR, if this is the first play by the offense and the runner had not safely reached 1B at the TOT that you'd place the runners on 2B and 3B?? since the coach intentionally stopping the ball qualifies as "dead ball territory"?? Just like if he threw the ball into the stands while making a play on BR at 1B is any of this accurate?? Just asking fellas...I don't have my RB's here w/ me today to consult...then would the FED/OBR rulings be the same in this sitch??
JR talks about "weak interference"

On this play as soon as the coach picked up the ball we have

1. TIME
2. That's interference
3. On most interferences somebody is out.

In the case presented, I would call "weak interference". It depends upon where R2 was at the moment the coach intentionally picked up the ball. If R2 had not yet reached third base I would keep R2 at second and the BR at first.

In addition, if there was anyway possible I am looking to get an out when a coach makes a deliberate move in which he did.

Pete Booth
__________________
Peter M. Booth
Reply With Quote