Quote:
Originally posted by williebfree
This IS what I was commenting on. The SIU player had become airborne, the Uconn player "slid" under him and Packer's commentary implied that it should be an offensive foul if the SIU player had not shot before contact occurred.
The only way I could be misintrepretting the play is if the NCAA "Charge" is significantly different than NFHS?
|
You're fine. What Packer is probably misinterpreting is the new NCAA men's airborne shooter rule regarding PC fouls.
Here's the play:
B1 has legal guarding position (not under the basket!!). A1 (with the ball) jumps, releases the ball, then crashes into B1 before A1 has returned to the ground.
In NF and NCAA women, this is a PC foul - no basket for A, no shots for B. This year in NCAA men, this is not a PC foul - the goal counts (if successful) and B1 shoots (if B is in the bonus).