View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jun 04, 2007, 11:00am
UMP25 UMP25 is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,606
Originally Posted by bob jenkins
What rules?

The rules all have some statement to the effect of "obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base." For OBR, JEA gives an "authoritative opinion" that the runner must reach foul territory (iirc). There's no such opinion / interp for other codes.

The umpire's call can certainly be supported.
In the absence of anything in NCAA on this, Bob, they would defer to an OBR interpretation.
Reply With Quote