Quote:
Originally Posted by waltjp
Sit 2 -
If the umpire judges the interference to be intentional he could declare the batter out and complete the double play. R1 would return to first base if the inning is to continue.
|
Not under OBR he is. DP interference outs would be declared only in situations where it's an "obvious and imminent" double play, intent notwithstanding, meaning the double play itself must be both obvious and imminent. That's why the DP is called in the Force Play Slide Rule situation in NCAA, for example.
I can't see how in Sit. 2 of the OP's comments one could justify ruling a double play. If F6 is trying to field a ball and R2 runs into him, we've got a simple interference: R2 is out, ball's dead, R1 is moved to second due to the batter being awarded first base.