View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jun 02, 2007, 10:27am
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by TXMike
Being hit by a ball muffed by Team A does not constitute forced touching by B. Therefore, A is in possession at the end of the down. PSK enforcement does not apply. A can take the 15 yard penalty from previous spot and an auto 1st or decline and take ball at the B-31, which is what they would choose.
In NF, rule 6-2-4 says "such touching is ignored if it is caused by K muffing the ball into R," thus we would have PSK.

In NCAA rule 6-3-4 says ""an inbounds player touched by the ball batted by an opponent is not deemed to have touched the ball," and AR 6-3-4-III discusses a "bat" but not a muff. Thus, it appears this is one of the differences between NF and NCAA. I think muffing the ball into another player should not be considered touching by R, but it appears it is in NCAA.

TXMike, would you give the benefit of the doubt to it being a "bat" instead of a "muff" so PSK would still be in effect, since the rule is to not give an advantage to the kicking team and allowing them a new set of downs when they kicked the ball? I'm not saying if it was an obvious muff, but one that could possibly considered a bat. Mike, do you think that a muff maybe would be a good addition to the NCAA rule?
Reply With Quote